July 22nd, 2020

Update on PH Travel Restrictions, Commercial and Charter Flights

The Department of Foreign Affairs (DFA) confirms that of the 177 countries/territories across the Americas, Asia and the Pacific, Europe, and Middle East/Africa included in the updated infographics on Travel Restrictions, 31 have already lifted the inbound border restrictions on Filipino travels.

AirAsia cabin crew repat

But that is still subject to medical protocols on arriving passengers. Additional countries that recently opened their borders include Bahamas, Egypt, Ethiopia, and UAE.

About 78 countries/territories, despite inbound border closures, give entry exemptions to Filipinos who are citizens of the destination country and returning residents, OFWs with work visas and contracts, diplomatic or UN passport holders going to post or on official travel. The new update under this category is Macau SAR, with imposed medical protocols.

The updated DFA infographics also confirm that 138 countries now allow Filipinos to return and leave the Philippines, subject to flight availability and other special arrangements. These include commercial flights and possible charter flights going to and leaving the Philippines. A number of special chartered flights have been dedicated and arranged by air operators on behalf of manning agencies and shipping companies to also ease the challenges of crew changes.

The country’s flag-carrier airline, Philippine Airlines (PAL) have also resumed international flights operations. Beginning this month PAL has resumed flights to:

  • USA
  • Guam
  • London
  • Sydney
  • Singapore
  • Kuala Lumpur
  • Jakarta
  • Bangkok
  • Japan
  • Hong Kong
  • Taipei
  • Dubai
  • Dammam
  • Riyadh


These International Airlines have also been operating at the Manila International Airport’s Terminal 1:

  • Air China
  • Air Niugini
  • Asiana Airlines
  • China Airlines
  • China Eastern
  • China Southern
  • Etihad Airlines
  • Eva Air
  • Ethiopian Airlines
  • Gulf Air
  • Hong Kong Airlines 
  • Japan Airlines
  • Jeju Air
  • Jetstar Asia
  • Jetstar Japan
  • Korean Airlines
  • Kuwait Airways
  • Malaysia Airlines
  • Oman Air
  • Royal Brunei Airlines 
  • Saudia Airlines
  • Scoot
  • Thai Airways
  • Xiamen Air


The following international destinations require all passengers coming from the Philippines to present a COVID-19 RT-PCR Negative-Test Result/Certification issued by government recognized accredited testing institutions before they are allowed to board flights:

  • Abu Dhabi
  • Dubai
  • South Korea
  • Hong Kong